Entertainment in Isolation: Monty Python

OK… I’m starting to go a little squirrely here. I’m spending too much time in my basement office, and I haven’t had time to write blogs, which was bringing me so much peace and relaxation early in the period of isolation. I’ve got a few minutes now, so I’m putting together a quick one.

In the short gaps between responding to e-mails for my work, I’ve been using the movie database software and program available at Collectorz.com to catalogue my collection. In doing so, I keep coming across gems I haven’t watched in a while, and they immediately get added to those I must revisit. Today, I’m into the “M”s. By no means are these discs I’ve dusted off, but you might enjoy today’s addition to my list.

I don’t even remember when I began watching Monty Python. I know it was at some point in high school, because I recall being one of the few in a talent show audience familiar with “The Parrot Sketch,” as evidenced by the nervous, polite laughter surrounding me as I made no attempts to stifle my own boisterous response.

If you’re new to Python, it may take a while to figure out what the heck you’re watching and come to a determination as to whether you should laugh or not. There’s no question, whether you find the comedy of Graham Chapman, John Cleese, Terry Gilliam, Eric Idle, Terry Jones and Michael Palin hilarious or utterly confusing, it is most definitely unique. And that’s one of the things I like the most about it.

Hidden within the silly, absurd and, at times, nonsensical depths of Monty Python’s sketches and films is buried a level of genius unparalleled in the comic world. The landscape covered by the group’s catalogue is so vast, that you never know what you’re going to get from them, whether it be wit and wisdom based in history and philosophy or complete silliness with slapsticky silly walks and a cross-dressing lumberjack.

If you’re interested in taking a trip down the path to Python for the first time, I recommend starting with Monty Python and the Holy Grail, likely the most popular and accessible of their three films. Without question, it’s my favourite, and one of which I never get bored. Like The Rocky Horror Picture Show, this is one of those films which continues to make repeat appearances at local theatres for audience participation events. It’s consistent ridiculousness and hilarity give one an even and appealing level of humour to welcome them into this wacky world. If you like it, get tickets to see Spamalot on stage! I’m waiting to find out if the present state of the world is going to allow me to enjoy the Stratford production in the near future.

Where you go after that is up to you. You can check out highlights from the four season run of Monty Python’s Flying Circus with any one of their “best of” compilations, which, in my mind is where you’ll find the depth and breadth of Python’s genius. Their comedy is so diverse, that one can’t help but be impressed by their wealth of knowledge and insight regarding both the silly and the serious.

Alternately, you can sit down and enjoy the troupe’s other two films, Life of Brian and The Meaning of Life, their most brilliant and most mainstream works, respectively. Beware, that you need to be open to offence in order to enjoy Python. As the cover description for Life of Brian states, “nothing is sacred” in these movies. Don’t say I didn’t warn you!

Beyond Flying Circus and their three films, Monty Python lives on through brilliant stage performances – both from the past and present – of their sketches and their songs. Live at the Hollywood Bowl is a timeless highlight from the eighties, while productions such as 2014’s One Down Five to Go shows that the surviving Python’s (and sometimes bits of those no longer with us) are still absolutely hilarious and captivating!

If you decide to go all-in with Monty Python, it’s going to take you a while to get through their material. Well, guess what. Time… we’ve got! Almost all things Python are available to stream through Netflix. I took a glance a few minutes ago, and can’t seem to locate The Meaning of Life in their offerings, but everything else is there! You can peruse to your heart’s content for a night of relaxation and (hopefully) raucous laughter! I don’t know about you, but that’s exactly what I need right now! Let me know what you think.

Now… RUN AWAY! RUN AWAY!

Leave a comment